Eastern and Southern African Trade and Development Bank

Established in 1985, the Eastern and Southern African Trade and Development Bank (TDB) is an African development finance institution, with investment-grade ratings and assets of USD 8bn. TDB serves 23 member states in its region, with the mandate to finance and foster trade, regional economic integration and sustainable development, through trade finance and project and infrastructure finance.

The Bank provides bespoke bilateral and syndicated short and long-term financial solutions in numerous sectors to sovereign, financial institutions, and corporate clients, including SMEs, from the region. This includes direct financing via senior and mezzanine debt, equity, guarantees, export credit financing as well as a range of non-financial products such as advisory, asset management and agency services.

The consistent delivery of triple bottom line development impact alongside attractive financial returns has enabled TDB to position itself as a trusted partner to intermediate global and regional capital into the region it serves. TDB has a public-private equity capital structure with 44 sovereign and institutional shareholders, including pension funds, insurance companies and development finance institutions. The Bank mobilizes debt funding from multilateral and bilateral banks, commercial banks, and investors from across the globe — through capital market issuances, long and short-term lines of credit, risk-sharing agreements, co-financing arrangements, and export credit financing.

The Bank is firmly committed to sustainability principles and well-aligned via its robust ESG framework with the Sustainable Development Goals, the African Union’s Agenda 2063, and the Paris Agreement.

Among its most recent latest recognitions, TDB received Global Finance’s award for ‘Best Bank for Trade Finance in Frontier Markets’ globally, Global Trade Review Leaders in Trade ‘Best Development Bank’ globally, as well as African Banker Awards’ DFI of the Year’ and ‘Sustainable Bank of the Year’.

TDB has principal offices in Mauritius and Burundi, regional offices in Kenya, Zimbabwe and Ethiopia, and DR Congo.

TDB is part of TDB Group, which also comprises the Trade and Development Fund (TDF), Eastern and Southern African Trade Advisers Limited (ESATAL), TDB Captive Insurance (TCI), and the TDB Academy.

About TDF

The Trade and Development Fund (TDF) provides innovative alternative financing solutions to clients in TDB Group member states, with a particular focus on groups that are traditionally underserved, such as MSMEs, women and youth. TDF also provides project development grants, technical assistance, thought leadership and programme management services.


Eastern and Southern African Trade Advisers Limited (ESATAL) is the manager of the Eastern and Southern African Trade Fund (ESATF), a trade finance fund which focuses on advancing trade-led economic and social development via the financing of short to medium-term trade transactions, including those of SMEs. ESATAL and ESATF are part of TDB Group’s asset and fund management activities which are focused on the design, origination, and growth of stand­alone investment vehicles for a wide range of investors and development partners.

About TCI

TDB Captive Insurance (TCI) provides risk insurance and reinsurance cover exclusively for TDB and TDB Group subsidiaries, to provide further efficiencies in the Group’s risk management.

About TDB Academy

The TDB Academy is the capacity-building arm of TDB Group, offering training, seminars, conferences, study tours and other human and institutional capacity development interventions in the financial and investment segments of interest to TDB and its partner.

For more information, please consult: https://www.tdbgroup.org.