Development Bank of Central African States

The Development Bank of Central African States (the “Bank”), otherwise known under the French acronym BDEAC (Banque de Développement des Etats de l’Afrique Centrale), was established on 3 December 1975, under the Convention agreed upon by members of the Council of Heads of State of the Central African Customs and Economic Union (UDEAC), which later became the Central Africa Economic and Monetary Community (CEMAC).

It officially launched its activities on 3 January 1977.

With its Headquarters based in Brazzaville (Republic of Congo), and Country offices in the 5 other CEMAC States (Cameroon, Central African Republic, Gabon, Equatorial Guinea and Chad), BDEAC has the legal status of an International Financial Institution endowed with full legal personality and financial autonomy.


  • promote the sustainable development of the CEMAC countries and contribute to the economic integration of the countries of Central Africa, in particular by financing national and multinational investments and economic integration projects;
  • provide support to Member States, sub-regional organizations, financial institutions and economic operators in their efforts to mobilize financial resources and finance projects, in particular to preserve ecosystems and fight against climate change;
  • support Member States, sub-regional organizations and economic operators in financing the feasibility studies of programs and projects.


As of 31 December 2020, BDEAC’s shareholding structure comprises two classes broken down as follows:

  • Class A – comprising the 6 members of CEMAC region (8,48% each).
  • Class B – comprising BEAC (33.43%), AfDB (0.25%), France (0.83%), Kuwait (0.08%), Libya (0.63%), Morocco (0.2%), CEMAC Commission (0.08%), FSA (0.08%), BADEA (0.08%) and unsubscribed shares

The Bank’s authorised capital is FCFA 1200 billion.

For more information, please consult: