East African Development Bank


The East African Development Bank (EADB) was established in 1967 with the mandate to provide financial and other support to its member countries, which currently are Kenya, Tanzania, Rwanda and Uganda.  Burundi has applied to become a member state.  It was re-established under its own charter in 1980 after the break-up of the East African Co-operation in 1977. The new charter opened up the Bank to a wider membership and allowed for the introduction of consulting and advisory services.

The EADB’s loan portfolio is spread widely, but more than 60% of its lending is to projects in health and education, hotels and tourism, construction and building, electricity and water, and agriculture, all of which are central to the current and future prosperity of the region and its people.



The Bank has two categories of shareholders:

CLASS A – comprising the member countries of the East African Community (Kenya, Rwanda, Tanzania and Uganda).

CLASS B – comprising the African Development Bank, FMO – Netherlands, DEG – Germany, Consortium of Yugoslav Institutions, SBIC – Africa Holdings, Commercial Bank of Africa, Nairobi, Nordea Bank Sweden, AB (publ), Standard Chartered Bank, London and Barclays Bank PLC, London.

For more information: www.eadb.com.

Recent news